More Cupcakes!

So, for the second installment of my new-found cupcake obsession, I made…

3-P1120448

Black forest cupcakes!

I’d never made a black forest cake before, but after watching this video from Joy of Baking, I figured I knew enough to put my own twist on it.

First, I made my trusty chocolate spice cake recipe from completely delicious without the spices.

100_2257

While those cooled, I prepared the filling: cherry syrup with whipped cream and whole cherries.

You’ll have to forgive my laziness in buying preserved cherries in syrup.  I wasn’t sure what cherries to get, but settled on these:

100_2261

This can is about half the amount called for in the Joy of Baking recipe.  I don’t remember exactly how many mL, but it was around 350 or so. After I drained the cherries, I saved 1/2 cup of the syrup and 36 cherries (2/cupcake).  I put the remaining syrup and berries in a container back in the fridge.

100_2259

As the Joy of Baking recipe instructed, I heated the syrup and sugar until the sugar was dissolved, and then added a bit more than 1 tablespoon of kirsch. I also added a tablespoon of kirsch to the cherries.

100_2258

For the whipped cream, I mixed in some vanilla extract and sugar into 250 mL of whipping cream and put it in the fridge.  After half an hour or so, I whipped it up (a bit too much actually) and began building my cupcakes…

100_2255

Step 1: Hollow out cupcake and moisten with cherry syrup

100_2262

Step 2: Squirt in some whipped cream

100_2263

Step 3: Squish in 2 cherries (you really do have to squish them in, these cupcakes are FULL)

100_2264

Step 4: Squirt some more whipped cream on top of the cherries

100_2265

Step 5: Moisten the top cake piece with cherry syrup and put it back on top of the cupcake

100_2266

Step 6: Ice with whipped cream, sprinkle on some chocolate shavings, and top with a cherry!

100_2268

Step 7: Put in the refrigerator for a few hours or overnight to really let the flavours sink in.

You might have noticed my whipped cream was a bit lumpy.  That’s because I don’t have much experience with the delicate art that is whipping cream.  If you have any tips on how to keep from over-beating whipping cream, or how to stabilize it in order to be able to pipe it nicely, please share!

Overall, though, I was quite happy with my little black forest cupcakes.

4-P1120449

P.S. The best part of using whipped cream is that you’ve got to eat the cupcakes fast before it goes bad!

One thought on “More Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

